APC Appoints Fayemi As National Convention Committee Chairman

“We want them to be part of the process such that because they are committed, their principals will also be committed to the process. So, the challenge we are passing on to you today is to organise a process that will make us a pivot in this nation for internal democracy and for transparency.
Former Governor of Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi was appointed as Chairman of the committee. Oyegun said; “It has been agreed that Alhaji Kawu Baraje should act as Deputy Chairman of the Committee. So, the ball is in your court. The party has put in your hands, the most critical assignment in the process of producing the next President for this nation.
“It is the way you conduct this process and the way you conduct the exercise itself that will finally catapult us from being an opposition party into the incoming government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
“We are there to be consulted at every stage and at any point you deem it fit. You are to do the job to match into your own personal integrity as a fearless man of probity and integrity.
“I thank you for the sacrifice you will be making in the next 21 days. I am sure that at the end of the day. We will all have course to celebrate,” Oyegun said.
The presidential aspirants also nominated some members of the committee: Hon. Greg Eguh; Hon. Faruk Adamu Aliyu; Murtala S. Garo; Yusuf Mai-Anguwa; and Hon. Ifeoluwa Arowosoge, but they are not allowed to vote. Oyegun said they will be there to ensure transparency.
Speaking after his nomination, Fayemi promised to ensure a transparent process. He however asked for the cooperation of members of the APC.
“I want to assure you sir, that seeing the calibre of persons you have put in this committee that we shall deliver on this assignment on time, on course, on integrity, on commitment and on transparency to our party and to Nigerians.
“But we need the cooperation of all our members and not just the presidential aspirants , but also their supporters. For me, it is a very unique addition that you have made as a party by asking all the aspirants to have observers on the committee. At the end of the day, we will turn this into a big celebration and a genuine desire for change,” said Fayemi.
Members of the National Convention Committee include: Kayode Fayemi (Chairman); Alh. Kawu Baraje( Deputy Chairman); Barr. Boss Mustapha; Dr. Garba Abari; Brig-Gen. Mansur Dan Ali(Rtd); Prof. Umar Faruk; Hajiya Aisha Ibrahim; Mr. Olawale Edun; Prof. Mojeed Alabi; Mr. Edwin Ogunbor and Mr. Preye Aganaba.
Others are: Dr. Kachin Nwoja; Hon. Tony Oneweek Muonagor; Sen. Babafemi Ojudu; Hon. Yakubu Dogara; Dr. Alex Ideh(Alternate Secretary); Alh. Mai Bala Buni( National Secretary /Secretary); Sen. Osita Izunaso(National Organising Secretary); and Alh. Lai Mohammed( National Publicity Secretary).

Categories: UTV AUDIO

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s